The NZ Rugby Foundation is fortunate to be guided by a diverse group of outstanding individuals who have all excelled in their chosen paths. They represent a vastly experienced balance of rugby, governance, business, empathy, accounting and legal expertise contributing to the organisation both in terms of ethic and longevity.

PATRON: Sir Graham Henry- KNZM

"Graham’s reputation and standing in the community will be of great benefit to our ongoing work and goals of supporting our rugby players who have been seriously injured."

PATRON: Richie McCaw - ONZ

"This role provides a great opportunity for me to support rugby and the wider community, which has supported me and my rugby career over the years.​​​​​​​"


An inspirational and diplomatic number eight Andy is still heavily involved with Wellington Rugby and is a prominent businessman in the capital city.

CHAIR: Gerard van Tilborg

After being the NZRU constitutionally appointed trustee for two years Gerard Van Tilborg was elected on to the board full time in 2014, and voted in as chairman in June 2015

TREASURER: Mark Peters

Mark was Chairman of the Marlborough Rugby Union for 6 years, a Director of the NZ Rugby Union for 8 years and is currently a director of the Highlanders Rugby Franchise.

Simon Tremain

Simon is now the Managing Director of the Tremain Real Estate Group, a giant in the Hawkes Bay and still maintains strong rugby ties through personal, family and business relationships.

Andrew Golightly

Andrew joined the New Zealand Rugby Board in 2014. is a former Northland Rugby Union Chairman (2008-2014) and board member since 2007. He also served five years as a Director of the Blues (2008-13).

Andrew Hall

Andrew is the National Programme Manager for the NZ Spinal Trust and manages the Trust’s Peer Support and Vocational Rehabilitation programmes. Formerly he has been the CEO and Chair of the NZ Spinal Trust as well as having over 30 years experience in IT.​​​​​​​

After completing her MBA in 2019 Melodie is currently the Head of Sports and Events for Television New Zealand. A former World Cup winning Black Fern of proud Ngai Tahu descent, Mel’s involvement in rugby continues at all levels through boards at Rugby World Cup limited to her local club.

David Latta

'Crazy' had a distinguished career as Hooker for Otago from 1986 - 1996 (161 Games) including being involved in the famous 1994 victory over the touring Springboks. 

Rowena Davenport - NZR Rep.

Rowena joined the NZR Board in April 2022.  Prior to that she was Chair of the Otago Rugby Football Union in 2019, following six years serving as a director on the ORFU Board. ​​​​​​​

Dr John Mayhew - ONZM

Dr. John Mayhew adds serious medical clout to the mix. Boasting a long association with NZRU as team doctor for the All Blacks and medical director for the NZRU with 10 years on the IRB advisory board. 

Stephen Morris

Stephen was a New Zealand Rugby Board  Director  (2016 – 2019) and a former Manawatu Rugby Union Chairmen (201 – 2016) and Hurricanes Director (2011 -2102) and is professor of Animal  Science at Massey University

Graeme Mourie - MBE

Out of the 61 games Gos played for the All Blacks, he was the captain 57 times. A fast and intelligent flank' he is synonymous with  many  moments in New Zeland's rugby history. 

Kirsten Patterson (KP)

KP is Chief Executive of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand. She was previously New Zealand Country Head at Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand